## FOUNDING OF THE SOCIETY.

HE first meeting was held at the Oakland Public Museum on April 12, 1913, at 4 o'clock, to consider the advisability and possibility of forming a Botanical Society for California.

Dr. W. F. Badè was chosen as temporary chairman and Mrs. D. W. de Veer as temporary secretary. The meeting having been called at the instance of Dr. W. L. Jepson, he was asked by the chair to state his views.

A botanical society, said Dr. Jepson, ought to have two aims—the promotion of botanical research, and the diffusion of accurate botanical knowledge, in an accessible form, amongst the people. Botany should not be the property of a small cult or a select few, but it should be a science with a broad outlook in its relation to other sciences and to the humanities. It should play its due part in the progress of civilization in California.

With any such end in view, botanical science, for its proper development, must have the support of the people of California, and with such support accorded, the people of California are entitled to have at their command the best results of recent botany in a

form suited to their needs.

The speaker felt that a society composed of both professional and amateur botanists would best serve the interests of the State. The interchange of ideas in such a society by people of diverse interests would be valuable. Our station on the most traveled, round-theworld route, would enable us to entertain many traveling botanists and secure the benefit of their experience.

Dr. Badè expressed the belief that inasmuch as the field for botanical research in California is unique and quite wonderful, there should be a large organization, and that from the nature of the field, it would be found advisable to have various sections to investi-

gate various places of the plant life of the State.

A temporary organization was thereupon effected. The following provisional officers were elected: President, Dr. W. L. Jepson; First Vice-President, Guy Smith; Second Vice-President, Dr. W. F. Badè; Secretary-Treasurer, Mrs. D. W. de Veer; Corresponding Secretary, Miss Mary W. Tyrrell, and a meeting called for April 26th, in order that a larger number of persons might participate in the organization.

The following persons were present at the first meeting: Dr. W. L. Jepson, Dr. W. F. Badè, Mr. Charles S. Greene, Mr. C. P. Wilcomb, Miss Mary W. Tyrrell, Miss A. Gertrude Anthony, Miss Henrietta Burroughs, Miss Ethel C. Ayer, Miss Mary A. Darby, Miss Rowena Beans, Mrs. Calvert Meade, Mrs. Edward A. Kluegel, Mrs. D. W. de Veer, Mr. V. L. Minehart, Mr. Guy Smith, Miss Inez Deming, Mrs. J. G. Lemmon.